UniverCity Year Columbia County

Columbia County is located in southcentral Wisconsin and conveniently located to larger metropolitan areas including Madison, Milwaukee and Rockford, Illinois. Over 57,000 residents make up the county’s 21 towns, 10 villages and 4 cities. The county’s strong manufacturing base provides economic opportunity, quality schools and healthcare, and recreational options. The county is home to the Wisconsin Dells and a large Amish community as well as 11,000 acres of lakes, 16,000 acres of public hunting and wildlife land, 49 miles of trout streams, 27 boat landings and 3,000 campsites.

Columbia County is partnering with UniverCity Year from 2021-2024 and is interested in addressing a range of issues, like affordable housing, childcare, resiliency and sustainability, that the pandemic has exacerbated.

A logo with an outline of the State of Wisconsin and the text Columbia County Economic Development Corporation
  1. “Designing the Columbia County Economic Development Corporation website.” Independent student research.
  2. Evaluating Rio Fire Department infrastructure and future designs. Civil & Environmental Engineering 578: Senior Capstone Design. Jan Kucher and Mark Oleinik.